You: The Story

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

Life is a story in motion. Each day, you add to your story, revise it, and view it from a different angle. You erase things. Tear pages out. And sometimes, in hindsight, wish you could put them back. A day is a story. A year is a story. A life is a story.
You are a story.

Ruta Sepetys is known for creating vivid characters and harrowing plots. After five award-winning works of historical fiction and countless hours of meticulous research, she can affirm that the secret to strong writing is embedded within your life experience.

You- The Story is a powerful how-to book for aspiring writers that encourages you to look inward and excavate your own memories in order to discover the authentic voices and compelling details that are waiting to be put on the page. Masterfully weaving in humorous and heartfelt stories from her own life that illustrate an aspect of the craft of writing (such as plot, character development, or dialogue), Sepetys then inspires readers with a series of writing prompts and exercises.

Perfect for fans of Burn After Writing and Bird by Bird, You- The Story awakens the emerging writer and reveals that with some reflection, curiosity, and courage, you have a story to tell.

The nonfiction debut by #1 New York Times bestselling and Carnegie Medal-winning author Ruta Sepetys. Perfect for fans of Burn After Writing and Bird by Bird.

Life is story in motion. Each day, you add to your story, revise it, and view it from a different angle. You erase things. Tear pages out. And sometimes, in hindsight, wish you could put them back. A day is a story. A year is a story. A life is a story.
You are a story.

Ruta Sepetys is known for creating vivid characters and harrowing plots. After five award-winning works of historical fiction and countless hours of meticulous research, she can affirm that the secret to strong writing is embedded within your life experience.

You- The Story is a powerful how-to book for aspiring writers that encourages you to look inward and excavate your own memories in order to discover the authentic voices and compelling details that are waiting to be put on the page. Masterfully weaving in humorous and heartfelt stories from her own life that illustrate an aspect of the craft of writing (such as plot, character development, or dialogue), Sepetys then inspires readers with a series of writing prompts and exercises.

Perfect for fans of Burn After Writing and Bird by Bird, You- The Story awakens the emerging writer and reveals that with some reflection, curiosity, and courage, you have a story to tell.

Ruta Sepetys is the internationally acclaimed, #1 New York Times bestselling author of I Must Betray You and other historical fiction published in over sixty countries and forty languages. Her five novels have won or been shortlisted for more than forty book prizes, and are included on more than sixty state award lists. Between Shades of Gray was adapted into the film Ashes in the Snow, and her other novels are currently in development for TV and film. Winner of the Carnegie Medal, Sepetys is passionate about the power of history and literature to foster global awareness and connectivity. She has presented to NATO, the European Parliament, in the United States Capitol, and at embassies worldwide. Ruta was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Twitter @RutaSepetys and Instagram @RutaSepetysAuthor.

Portuguese English Bilingual Visual Dictionary

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

6,750 words in a handy pocket size

With over 6,750 fully illustrated words and phrases in Portuguese and English, along with a free bilingual audio app, DK’s Portuguese-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary is your essential companion to learning Portuguese.

You will learn all the words and phrases you need to buy food and clothes, talk about work and education, visit the doctor, go to the bank, use public transport, and much more. Perfect for students, tourists, and business travellers, the dictionary is incredibly easy to follow, with thematically organised vocabulary so you can find closely related words on a particular topic. Words and phrases are illustrated with full-colour photographs and artworks, helping to fix new vocabulary in your mind. The supporting audio app enables you to hear all the words and phrases spoken out loud in both languages to help you learn, remember, and pronounce important vocabulary.

English for Everyone Everyday English

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

A fun, easy-to-use visual guide to help English language learners communicate with confidence in the real world

Take your speaking skills to the next level with this easy-to-use, visual guide to conversational English.

Tired of textbook English? Keen to converse like a local? Need some help getting there? Then this book is for you! With more than 1,500 of the most useful words and phrases, English for Everyone- Everyday English is the perfect companion to help take your English from the classroom into day-to-day life. With this book, you’ll not only learn what to say, but how to say it, when to say it, and who to say it to!

This accessible self-study guide covers a wide range of real-life topics and scenarios, from going to the supermarket and asking directions to making small talk at your neighbour’s party and saying thank you (in at least five different ways!)

Each unit includes authentic dialogues brought to life by clear, engaging visuals, followed by exercises to put into practice what you’ve learned and build the skills you need to speak and listen effectively.

The dialogues are accompanied by audio on the free English for Everyone app, featuring native speakers of English. Listening to the audio helps you tackle any tricky pronunciation and learn how to use tone of voice and emphasis to make your meaning clearer.

Whether you want to get a flat white to go, pop to the barbers for a quick trim, or kick things off at a meeting, English for Everyone- Everyday English will help you communicate with confidence in any situation. You need never be stuck for words again!

We believe in the power of discovery. That’s why we create books for everyone that explore ideas and nurture curiosity about the world we live in.
From first words to the Big Bang, from the wonders of nature to city adventures, you will find expert knowledge, hours of fun and endless inspiration in the pages of our books.

English for Everyone Practice Book Level 2 Beginner

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

An illustrated workbook to accompany the best-selling English for Everyone Course Book- Level 2 Beginner

You’ve learnt the basics of the English language, now improve your confidence with the second practice book in the visual learning series English for Everyone.

Practice Book- Level 2 Beginner will help you to feel confident in the skills you learn from the Course Book- Level 2 Beginner or from your other courses or studies. Strengthen your vocabulary and grammar skills on topics such as emotions, actions and activities, numbers, dates, months and seasons, and much more.

Grab your pen and work your way through the exercises as you cover each Level 2 topic. Activities include filling in the blanks, true or false decision-making, matching the pairs, wordsearches, and more. Audio material is provided at every stage through the English For Everyone website to help you perfect your pronunciation.

English for Everyone is aligned to the CEFR, the international standard for language learning, and ideal for preparation for major English-language exams including IELTS, TOEIC, and TOEFL. Whether you want to improve your English for work, study, or travel, the Practice Book- Level 2 Beginner will help you to gain confidence in your new English language skills.

English for Everyone Course Book Level 2 Beginner

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

A complete self-study English language course for adults

This self-study English course for beginners is uniquely visual, engaging, and easy to follow.

Perfect for budding beginners who already know the basics, the Level 2 Beginner Course Book builds on the foundations of Level 1 and prepares you for intermediate level English. The course goes into more depth and detail, including talking about yourself and your feelings, routines, choices, past events, future plans, achievements, and ambitions. Eye-catching illustrations and step-by-step explanations keep content simple and straightforward. Packed with listening, speaking, reading, and writing exercises presented in bite-sized modules, you can follow the book from start to finish or dip in and out to boost your language skills. All teaching is supported by extensive audio materials, with clips recorded by native English speakers to teach the perfect pronunciation.

This book is part of DK’s best-selling English for Everyone series, which is suitable for all levels of English language learners and provides the perfect reading companion for study, exams, work, or travel. As you work through the units, you’ll cover all the language skills, vocabulary, and grammar needed for the major global English-language exams, including TOEFL and IELTS. Visit www.dkefe.com to find out more.