The Time of the Doves

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

The Time of the Doves, the powerfully written story of a naïve shop-tender during the Spanish Civil War and beyond, is a rare and moving portrait of a simple soul confronting and surviving a convulsive period in history. The book has been widely translated, and was made into a film.

“Mercè Rodoreda is the writer I cannot stop talking about.”—Alberto Ríos

“[I] read [The Time of the Doves] cover to cover all in one afternoon. When I was finished, I felt as foolish as Balboa discovering the powerful Pacific.”—Sandra Cisneros, from her Foreword to Camilla Street

Swan Song

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

Longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2019

A dazzling debut about Truman Capote, the literary icon of his age, and the beautiful, wealthy, vulnerable women he called his Swans.

To the outside world, they were the icons of high society — the most glamorous and influential women of their age. To Truman Capote they were his Swans: the ideal heroines, as vulnerable as they were powerful. They trusted him with their most guarded, martini-soaked secrets, each believing she was more special and loved than the next…

Until he betrayed them.

‘Writers write. And one can’t be surprised if they write what they know.’

About the Author

Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott was born and raised in Houston, Texas, before coming to call Los Angeles and London her adopted homes. She is a graduate of UEA’s Creative Writing MA course and was the winner of the Bridport Prize Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award. Swan Song is her first novel.

The Time of the Doves

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

The Time of the Doves, the powerfully written story of a naïve shop-tender during the Spanish Civil War and beyond, is a rare and moving portrait of a simple soul confronting and surviving a convulsive period in history. The book has been widely translated, and was made into a film.

“Mercè Rodoreda is the writer I cannot stop talking about.”—Alberto Ríos

“[I] read [The Time of the Doves] cover to cover all in one afternoon. When I was finished, I felt as foolish as Balboa discovering the powerful Pacific.”—Sandra Cisneros, from her Foreword to Camilla Street

The Secret of Vesalius

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

Frankenstein meets The Shadow of the Wind in a Gothic thriller set in the diabolical city of fin-de-siecle Barcelona.

Daniel Amat has left Spain and all that happened there behind him. Having just achieved a brilliant role in Ancient Languages at Oxford University and an even more advantageous engagement, the arrival of a letter – a demand – stamped Barcelona comes like a cold hand from behind.

He arrives back in that old, labyrinthine and near-mythic city a few days before the great 1888 World Fair, amid dread whispers of murders – the injuries reminiscent of an ancient curse, and bearing signs of the genius 16th century anatomist, Vesalius. Daniel is soon pulled into the depths of the crime, and eventually into the tunnels below Barcelona, where his own dark past and the future of science are joined in a terrible venture – to bring the secret of Vesalius to life.

Gothic and gripping, this historical thriller makes of Barcelona a diabolical character – emerging out of the dark into a new electrical age, aflame with spirit, superstition and science. Published in eighteen countries, Jordi Llobregat’s bestselling first novel mixes a passionate setting and cryptic mystery into a genre-crossing phenomenon.

The Library Thief

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

An extraordinary historical debut for any reader who loves gothic mysteries like Rebecca and Fingersmith, and fiction which shines a light on untold stories.

‘Intriguingly and superbly plotted . . . Shenje weaves race, identity, feminism, sexuality and class into a beguiling mystery’ WOMAN & HOME

 

The library is under lock and key. But its secrets can’t be contained.

After he brought her home from Jamaica as a baby, Florence’s father had her hair hot-combed to make her look like the other girls. But as a young woman, Florence is not so easy to tame – and when she brings scandal to his door, the bookbinder throws her onto the streets of Manchester.

Intercepting her father’s latest commission, Florence talks her way into the remote, forbidding Rose Hall to restore its collection of rare books. Lord Francis Belfield’s library is old and full of secrets – but none so intriguing as the whispers about his late wife.

Then one night, the library is broken into. Strangely, all the priceless tomes remain untouched. Florence is puzzled, until she discovers a half-burned book in the fireplace. She realises with horror that someone has found and set fire to the secret diary of Lord Belfield’s wife – which may hold the clue to her fate . . .

‘A tantalising read that swells with secrecy and intrigue. It’s hard to believe that Kuchenga Shenje writes of the past, and not of the present. A beautifully and skilfully written debut’

CANDICE CARTY-WILLIAMS, author of Queenie

‘This debut gut-wrenchingly conveys a unique historical perspective on race, gender, and sexuality . . . Fans of Sarah Waters and Bridget Collins might have in Shenje a new author to add to their TBR lists’

LIBRARY JOURNAL

‘Powerful, gorgeously absorbing and wholly original’

JOANNE BURN, author of The Hemlock Cure

‘Threads in themes of identity, sexuality and a woman’s impossible choices into an intricate web of mysteries that would not let me go’

CARI THOMAS, author of Threadneedle

‘I was swept up with the mystery. A beautifully crafted story full of nuanced characters, gothic undertones and plenty of heart’

STACEY THOMAS, author of The Revels

‘Atmospheric and compelling. Victorian gothic with a fresh twist’

FREYA BERRY, author of The Birdcage Library

A tantalising read that swells with secrecy and intrigue. It’s hard to believe that Kuchenga Shenje writes of the past, and not of the present. A beautifully and skilfully written debut

Powerful, sagacious and warm, The Library Thief is both a gripping, multi-layered mystery and a gorgeously absorbing novel that demanded I return to its pages whenever I had the audacity to set it down. Without a doubt, Shenje’s wholly original debut has bestseller written all over it

A compelling novel that starts as a mystery and grows into a coming-of-age story, examining identity, belonging, loneliness and friendship within the restrictive and stifling world of late Victorian society. The Library Thief is filled with fantastically drawn characters and with a love of books that shines through the prose