The Horses

Our Rating
Reader Rating

Author: Janina Matthewson

Category: Fiction & related items

Book Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 9781472299833

RRP: $34.99

Synopsis

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

A moving story of isolation and mankind’s connection with nature, perfect for fans of Emily St. John Mandel and Jon McGregor.

Sarah wakes up one morning feeling that something big, something irrevocable has happened.

To the small island community of Black Crag, it seems as though the rest of the world has gone to sleep – aeroplanes no longer criss-cross the sky, the radios have gone silent and the ferry no longer brings their supplies.

When the ferryman Arthur arrives, traumatised and silent, the whispers about what has happened on the mainland quickly turn into heated arguments.

As the chasm dividing the villagers continues to grow, Sarah struggles to find her purpose amidst the chaos. With a harsh winter fast-approaching, will the villagers learn to work together in order to ensure their collective survival? Will Sarah find the answers she’s looking for?

Janina Matthewson is originally from Christchurch, New Zealand and now lives in London. She trained as an actress and also studied English, history and linguistics. Her first novel, OF THINGS GONE ASTRAY, was published by The Friday Project in 2015. She co-authored (with Jeffrey Craner) her latest novel, YOU FEEL IT JUST BELOW THE RIBS, which was published by HarperCollins US in November 2021. She also co-writes the podcast WITHIN THE WIRES a cultishly successful thing, with 7million+ downloads over its five seasons, and more to come. She has also written for Murmurs, The Cipher, and Passenger List.

Reader Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
Your Rating
0 Reviews
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List