Slip

Our Rating
Reader Rating

Author: Marika McCoola

Category: Children's , Teenage & educational

Book Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

ISBN: 9781616207892

RRP: $32.99

Synopsis

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

From Eisner-Award nominated writer Marika McCoola and debut artist Aatmaja Pandya, an emotional coming-of-age graphic novel for fans of Bloom and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me. Right before Jade is about to leave for a summer art intensive, her best friend, Phoebe, attempts suicide. How is Jade supposed to focus on herself right now? But at the Art Farm, Jade has artistic opportunities she s been waiting for her whole life. And as she gets to know her classmates, she begins to fall for whimsical, upbeat, comfortable-in-her-own-skin Mary. Jade pours herself into making ceramic monsters that vent her stress and insecurities, but when she puts her creatures in the kiln, something unreal happens: they come to life. And they re taking a stand: if Jade won t confront her problems, her problems are going to confront her, including the scariest of them all if Jade grows, prospers, and even falls in love this summer, is she leaving Phoebe behind?

Marika McCoola?is a writer, illustrator, educator, ?and the?New York Times ?bestselling author of?Baba Yaga’s Assistant. She has spent over a decade working to connect books with readers. She studied illustration, art history, creative writing, and ceramics at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore and received her BFA in illustration in 2009.? Aatmaja Pandya is a cartoonist and illustrator born and raised in New York. She graduated from the School of Visual Arts in 2014 and has been illustrating professionally ever since. Slip is her first graphic novel.

Reader Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
Your Rating
0 Reviews
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List