Six Motives for Murder

Our Rating
Reader Rating

Author: Frances Brody

Category: Fiction & related items

Book Format: Paperback / softback

Publisher: Piatkus

ISBN: 9780349431994

RRP: $24.99

Synopsis

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

Yorkshire, 1969. Nell Lewis is four months into her new role as governor of HMP Brackerley when the prison takes on a catering contract for Brackerley village’s wedding of the year.

Almost all the female inmates are delighted to be involved in the celebrations, though Linda is desperate to avoid the event in case she is spotted, photographed, and once more appears on the front pages of the gutter press.

During the wedding reception, one of the inmates discovers the father of the bride, Mr Chapin, stabbed to death behind the marquee.

The murder shocks the close-knit village and police enlist Nell’s help to solve the mystery. There are multiple suspects at the wedding, all with strong motives for wanting Mr Chapin dead, but the prison workforce was closest to the scene of the crime . . .

The second historical mystery in the Brackerley Prison series from bestselling author Frances Brody. This is the perfect locked room page-turner for fans of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.

What readers are saying about Frances Brody:

‘Witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive’ Ann Cleeves

‘A splendid heroine’ Ann Granger

‘An engagingly forthright and indefatigable investigator’ Irish Times

‘Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish’ Barry Turner, Daily Mail

‘The series is right up there with Miss Marple’ Sunday Sport

‘Delightful’ People’s Friend

‘Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences’ Literary Review

‘Brody’s excellent mystery splendidly captures the conflicts and attitudes of the time with well-developed characters’ RT Book Reviews

‘In Yorkshire we are proud to have such a first-rate crime novelist in our county’ Yorkshire Gazette & Herald

Praise for Frances Brody:

Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers – Daily Mail

Has a charm, and mystery, all of its own – The Times

Brody’s writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive

With a competent, dynamic and likeable heroine, and an environment packed with stories great and small, it’s hard to see how this series would fail – Morning Star

Reader Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
Your Rating
0 Reviews
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List