Motorhome Prophecies

Our Rating
Reader Rating

Author: Carrie Sheffield

Category: Biography & True Stories

Book Format: Hardback

Publisher: Center Street

ISBN: 9781546004387

RRP: $49.99

Synopsis

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

In the vein of Educated and Hillbilly Elegy comes a young woman’s memoir chronicling her harrowing journey from despair to salvation that showcases the depths and resilience of the human spirit and empowers readers on their own paths toward healing, forgiveness, and redemption.

Carrie Sheffield grew up fifth of eight children with a violent, mentally ill, street-musician father who believed he was a modern-day Mormon prophet destined to become U.S. president someday. She and her seven siblings were often forced to live as vagabonds, remaining on the move across the country. They frequently subsisted in sheds, tents, and, most notably, motorhomes. They often lived a dysfunctional drifter existence, camping out in their motorhome in Walmart parking lots. Carrie attended 17 public schools and home school, all while performing classical music on the streets and passing out fire-and-brimstone religious pamphlets-at times while child custody workers loomed.

Carrie’s father was eventually excommunicated from the official LDS Church for his false prophecies, and she was the first of her siblings to escape the toxic brainwashing of his fundamentalist creed. Declared legally estranged from her parents, Carrie struggled with her mental health during college and for most of her adult life. But she eventually seized control of her life, transcended her troubled past, and overcame her toxic inner voice (and a near death experience)-thanks to the power of forgiveness, cultivated through her conversion to Christianity. She evolved from a scared and abused motorhome-dwelling girl to a Harvard-educated professional with a passion for empowering others to reject the cycles of poverty, depression, and self-hatred.

Motorhome Prophecies is the story of Carrie’s unbelievable, yet in many ways, very American journey. It resonates with those trapped in difficult situations and awes all who are enchanted by the depths and resilience of the human spirit.

Carrie Sheffield is a columnist and broadcaster in Washington D.C. Carrie covered Congress for The Hill and was a founding reporter at Politico. She won a Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship and contributed on political economy at Forbes, wrote editorials for the Washington Times under Tony Blankley, and advised the digital Millennial women’s site Bustle.com. She’s appeared as an on-air guest for Fox News, Fox Business, CNN, MSNBC, ABC’s Good Morning America, HBO’s Real Time with Bill Maher, C-SPAN, CBS News, CNN and elsewhere. Carrie earned a master’s in public policy from Harvard University, concentrating in business policy. She earned a B.A. with honours in communications at Brigham Young University and completed a Fulbright fellowship in Berlin. Carrie managed municipal credit risk at Goldman Sachs and rated healthcare bonds at Moody’s Investors Service. She later researched for American Enterprise Institute economics scholar Edward Conard and served as Warren Brookes Journalism Fellow at Competitive Enterprise Institute. She testified before the U.S. House of Representatives and spoke at the U.S. Senate alongside key senators in favour of landmark tax reforms passed by Congress in 2017.

Reader Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
Your Rating
0 Reviews
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List