Darker By Four

Our Rating
Reader Rating

Author: June CL Tan

Category: Fiction & related items

Book Format: Hardback

Publisher: Hodderscape

ISBN: 9781399718981

RRP: $49.99

Synopsis

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

<h3>’JAW-DROPPING’ AXIE OH</h3>

A girl who lost her magic. The boy who found it. And a city having one Hell of a time . . .

Rui is an Exorcist-in-training with one goal in mind – honing her magic to avenge her mother’s death.

Yiran is the black sheep of an illustrious family. The world would be at his feet – had he been born with magic.

But when an accident causes Rui’s power to transfer to Yiran, everything turns upside down. Without her magic, Rui has no tool for vengeance. With it, Yiran finally feels like he belongs.

As dangerous monsters overrun the city, Rui will do whatever it takes to regain her power. Even if that means making a deal with a shadowy stranger to track down a god who does not wish to be found . . .

A sparkling urban fantasy with an achingly slow burn romance at its heart, Darker By Four is the perfect book for fans of Legendborn and The Mortal Instruments, as well as anyone looking to immerse themselves in a shadowy world brimming with magic.

AUTHORS LOVE JUNE CL TAN

‘If you ever wanted a book that reads like a comfort anime that also isn’t afraid to skewer you with angst and explosive fight sequences, then look no further’ JOAN HE

‘A complete page-turner of a fantasy!’ KAT CHO

‘A rich and vividly drawn world of revenants, exorcists, death gods and stolen magic’ VANESSA LEN

‘Both ruthless and tender, this book leads you through a perilous world of death while grounding you in raw emotion’ KYLIE LEE BAKER

Darker by Four is a fresh and fast-paced fantasy that grabs you by the throat. Both ruthless and tender, this book leads you through a perilous world of death while grounding you in raw emotions – the desire to prove ourselves, protect those we love, and seek our destiny – Kylie Lee Baker, author of The Keeper of Night

Tan expertly weaves together a world of darkly dangerous fantasy with achingly real friendships and a simmering romance in Darker by Four. Those who gravitate toward mythological twists and pulse-pounding action will surely enjoy this jewel of a book – Sophie Kim, author of Last of the Talons

With a brilliant mix of Chinese mythology, action, humor, and slow-burn romance, Darker By Four is a thrilling contemporary fantasy that breathes new life to the fantasy genre. If you’re ready for an epic journey into a world where dark secrets unfold and the line between monsters and humanity blurs, Darker By Four awaits you! – Aiden Thomas, NY Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys and The Sunbearer Trials

A thrilling urban fantasy set in an imaginative realm where the Chinese underworld crashes into a modern city. Darker By Four is an action-packed anime fever dream and I need the sequel now! – Judy I. Lin, #1 NYT bestselling author of A Magic Steeped in Poison

Reader Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
Your Rating
0 Reviews
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List