A Black Girl in the Middle

Our Rating
Reader Rating

Author: Shenequa Golding

Category: Literature & literary studies

Book Format: Hardback

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 9781472297709

RRP: $55.00

Synopsis

0 0 votes
Reader Rating

‘Growing up in Queens, I didn’t know being named Shenequa was considered “ghetto” or uncouth. It was only later in life that I realized I was being judged by a decision I had no control over… I will examine the double-standard Black girls with big names like Shenequa face, and the quick math we have to calculate when trying to de-escalate drama.’

In A BLACK GIRL IN THE MIDDLE, a timely, compelling, and blazingly honest essay collection, Shenequa Golding holds up her magnifying glass to both her own experiences and those of young Black women everywhere. With her trademark wit and originality, Shenequa covers identity-searching themes of white supremacy, feminism, misogyny, love, sex and heartbreak. But this isn’t just a book about Black women’s trauma, it is also a book that embraces and celebrates the things that make Black women different. For readers of SLAY IN YOUR LANE, Candice Brathwaite and Issa Rae.

Shenequa A. Golding is a writer and editor whose work focuses on race, culture and entertainment. Shenequa’s articles and interviews (written and on-camera) have appeared in prominent Black publications such as Vibe and Essence as well as mainstream outlets like Complex and Vanity Fair in which she was commissioned by a Los Angeles-based agency to explore some of the themes in Steve McQueen’s anthology, Small Axe.

Her work includes interviewing Joshua Jackson for Ava DuVernay’s Netflix original limited series When They See Us, and Sybrina Fulton and Tracy Martin on what would have been Trayvon Martin’s 21st birthday for a feature about moving forward with grief. Her essay “Maintaining Professionalism in The Age of Black Death is…A Lot”, published on Medium in May 2020, has received 990K views to date. It also earned praise from CEO’s nationwide including Jeff Bezos for detailing the double-duty Black employees carry while trying to be professional as Black Americans are being killed by police.

Reader Reviews

Subscribe
Notify of
Your Rating
0 Reviews
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List