Cuddy wins the 2023 Goldsmiths Prize

Book Brief | Nov 2023

Benjamin Myers has won the UK’s £10,000 Goldsmiths Prize for Cuddy.

Cuddy by Benjamin MyersCuddy is a bold and experimental retelling of the story of the hermit St. Cuthbert, unofficial patron saint of the North of England.

Incorporating poetry, prose, play, diary and real historical accounts to create a novel like no other. Cuddy straddles historical eras – from the first Christian-slaying Viking invaders of the holy island of Lindisfarne in the 8th century to a contemporary England defined by class and austerity.

Along the way we meet brewers and masons, archers and academics, monks and labourers. Their visionary voices and stories echoing through their ancestors and down the ages.

And all the while at the centre sits Durham Cathedral and the lives of those who live and work around this place of pilgrimage their dreams, desires, connections and communities.



In 2013, the Goldsmiths Prize was established to celebrate the qualities of creative daring associated with the College and to reward fiction that breaks the mould or extends the possibilities of the novel form. The annual prize awards £10,000 to a book that is deemed genuinely novel and which embodies the spirit of invention that characterises the genre at its best.

Find out more about the prize at Goldsmiths Prize website.



Benjamin Myers is an award-winning author and journalist, whose work includes fiction, non-fiction, poetry and journalism. His novels have been translated into ten languages. He is the author of Cuddy, The Gallows Pole, The Offing, The Perfect Golden Circle, Male Tears and many more.

Reader Reviews

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List