Alexis Wright’s ‘Praiseworthy’ wins 2024 Stella Prize

Book Brief | May 2024

Stella has announced that Alexis Wright is the winner of the Australian 2024 Stella Prize for her novel Praiseworthy.

Tracker by Alexis Wright, winner of the 2018 Stella Prize

This is the second time Alexis Wright wins the Stella Prize having won in 2018 for her book, Tracker.
She is the first author to win the Stella Prize twice.

Beejay Silcox, 2024 Stella Prize Chair of Judges, said on behalf of the judging panel (Eleanor Jackson, Cheryl Leavy, Bram Presser and Yves Rees):

Praiseworthy is mighty in every conceivable way: mighty of scope, mighty of fury, mighty of craft, mighty of humour, mighty of language, mighty of heart. Praiseworthy is not only a great Australian novel – perhaps the great Australian novel – it is also a great Waanyi novel. And it is written in the wild hope that, one day, all Australian readers might understand just what that means. I do not understand. Not yet. But I can feel history calling to me in these pages. Calling to all of us. Imagine if we listened.



Australian author, Alexis WrightAlexis Wright is a member of the Waanyi nation of the southern highlands of the Gulf of Carpentaria. The author of the prize-winning novels Praiseworthy, Carpentaria and The Swan Book, Wright has published three works of non-fiction.

Take Power, an oral history of the Central Land Council; Grog War, a study of alcohol abuse in the Northern Territory. Tracker is an award-winning collective memoir of Aboriginal leader, Tracker Tilmouth.

Her books have been published widely overseas, including in China, the US, the UK, Italy, France and Poland.

Wright has won a number of literary awards, including the Miles Franklin Literary Award for Carpentaria, and a Queensland Literary Award for Praiseworthy, which was also shortlisted for the Dublin Literary Award, one of the world’s richest literary prizes.

She is the first author to win the Stella Prize twice – for Tracker in 2018, and for Praiseworthy in 2024. She held the position of Boisbouvier Chair in Australian Literature at the University of Melbourne, and was honoured with the title of Distinguished Professor at Western Sydney University. She is the inaugural winner of the Creative Australia Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature.

Visit the Stella website



Reader Reviews

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all reviews

The Latest List